Select Page

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can result in a serious accident. For this reason, DUI convictions carry significant penalties in Mississippi, including potential prison time.

Before facing a DUI court date, learn more about how the state charges these offenses.

First DUI conviction

When a person has no prior DUI convictions, the first offense may result in:

  • Fines between $250 and $1,000
  • Up to 48 hours in jail
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel
  • Mandated alcohol safety education program within six months of the sentencing hearing
  • Suspension of regular or commercial driver’s license

Second DUI conviction

When an individual receives a second DUI within five years of the first, penalties increase to:

  • Fines between $600 and $1,500
  • Minimum of five days and up to six months in jail
  • Minimum of 10 days and up to six months community service
  • Mandated alcohol safety education program within six months of the sentencing hearing
  • Suspension of regular or commercial driver’s license

Subsequent DUI convictions

A third DUI within the same five-year period may result in:

  • Fines between $2,000 and $5,000
  • Minimum of one year and up to five years in jail or state prison
  • Minimum of 10 days and up to six months community service
  • Mandated alcohol safety education program within six months of the sentencing hearing
  • Suspension of regular or commercial driver’s license

Mississippi charges fourth and further DUI offenses as felonies. These crimes carry fines between $3,000 and $10,000 and two to 10 years in prison, along with the penalties described above.

Additional guidelines

The state has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drivers who receive a DUI. If you are younger than 21, you can receive a conviction if you have a measured blood alcohol content of at least .02% (compared to .08% for drivers older than 21). These drivers receive a fine of $250 and must attend an alcohol safety education program and victim impact panel.