The moments following a car accident can be confusing as many personal and legal intricacies come into play. If you were hurt in the accident, your immediate concern would most certainly be seeking treatment and getting your health back. And if someone else was responsible for the accident, you might be wondering what your legal options are.
Amidst the confusion and pain that come with a car accident, it helps to understand that the steps you take next can be crucial to the outcome of your case. And this is where understanding Mississippi’s negligence laws come in.
Determining fault in a car accident claim
In a fault state like Mississippi, the party that is responsible for the accident and their insurance company must bear full responsibility for the accident. This means that you can pursue the negligent party, through their insurance company, for compensation for the resulting economic and non-economic damages.
Mississippi also applies a statute known as pure comparative negligence law. This statute takes your role in the accident into account when apportioning fault and any compensation. Under this rule, every party is responsible for their share of the damages, whether they’re 99% at fault or 1% at fault. If, for example, a jury decided you suffered $100,000 worth of losses but were 1% at fault for the wreck, you would only receive $99,000 in compensation.
A car accident can leave you physically and emotionally wounded and affect your life in negative ways for years to come. Find out how you can protect your rights while pursuing compensation following a car accident that is not your fault.